Who belonged on the second Triumvirate?

Expert Answers
thetall eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Second Triumvirate was the official alliance in the Roman Empire between Octavian Caesar Augustus (Julius Caesar’s nephew), Mark Antony and Marcus Lepidus. This Triumvirate followed the assassination of Julius Caesar by Brutus and his colleagues. The Second Triumvirate was basically a joint dictatorship by the three individuals who sought to pursue and punish the assassins and establish their authority over the Roman Empire. While the First Triumvirate was a private agreement between Julius Caesar, Pompey Magnus and Crassus, the Second Triumvirate was an official alliance entrenched in the Roman constitution through the Lex Titia. The three Triumvirs shared the Empire with Octavian getting Africa, Sicily and Sardinia. Antony remained in Gaul while Lepidus was responsible for Spain and Narbonensis. The Second Triumvirate succeeded in destroying a rebellion by Sextus Pompey (son to Pompey Magnus) and expansion of the Empire. War broke out between Antony and Octavian after the fall of Lepidus, where Octavian prevailed and titled himself emperor.