What are the stages of cell division?

Expert Answers
ebaker13 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Cell division is the process that cells go through to reproduce.  Cell division includes interphase, which is before mitosis and cytokinesis (the actual dividing of the cell).  Interphase consists of three phases: G1 phase, which is the growth of the cell; S phase, which is the replication of the DNA; and G2 phase, which is when the cell is getting ready for mitosis. Mitosis consists of four stages: the first stage of mitosis is prophase which is when the nucleus disappears; metaphase, which is when the chromosomes line up in the middle; anaphase, which is when the chromosomes pull apart to opposite ends; and telophase, which is when the nucleus reappears. Finally cytokinesis occurs, which is when the cells divide into two. The cells are identical to each other so that every cell in your body has the same information.


Meiosis is the reproduction of reproductive cells. Sperm and egg cells. The process of meiosis is the same as with mitosis but it goes through the mitosis sequence twice. This occurs so that each cell will have one copy of each chromosome found in the cell. Therefore when two sex cells combine the resulting offspring will have two copies of each chromosome.

giorgiana1976 | Student

Cell division has several ways to progress. Of these, P. Grasse (1952) notes the existence of two basic types:mitosis and meiosis.

Balanced distribution of genetic material and other cellular substructures is a complex process that takes place continuously, but for ease of understanding is splitted conventionally in 4 phases: profaza, metaphase, Anaphase and telophase, during which biochemical and morphological changes characteristic have place , which determines the final formation of two kernels sons and two daughter cells, with the same number of chromosomes in the cell that was divided.