Constitution of the United States

Start Free Trial

Which system of government did the Constitution create in the United States?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In the United States, the Constitution created a federal system of government. The federal system is a decentralized one. It divides the power of governance between a federal government and various state governments. 

The Constitution bequeaths the status of "dual sovereignty" to both the federal and state governments. The Tenth Amendment essentially defines how power is balanced between the federal and state governments in the United States. It proclaims that the federal government is constrained by its enumerated powers in the Constitution. It cannot overstep those boundaries. Thus, any powers not assigned to it are retained by the states.

The federal government oversees matters of national concern, while the state governments address local issues. The Constitution allows the federal government (through Congress) to print money, levy taxes, declare war, and regulate interstate commerce. In matters of national security or the national defense, the federal government has jurisdiction. State governments, however, can determine how each state addresses local issues.

For more, please refer to the link below.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial