Which of the following states was not one of the original thirteen states?

Expert Answers
enotechris eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In early colonial times, all the current New England states were just one political entity known as the Dominion of New England.  Only through acts of Parliament over the years did each colony establish its borders, and these remained roughly in place until the American Revolution. However, New York and New Hampshire, two of the original Thirteen Colonies, had disputed their boundary for many years.  The local militia in the disputed area, the Green Mountain Boys, established their own country of Vermont (from the French, literally, "Green Mountain") which was an independent nation from 1777 until 1791.  When Vermont decided to join the brand new United States, it was the first state added to the original thirteen colonies.

All of Maine was part of Massachusetts; like Michigan, two separate areas of land comprised this state, which was only divided by the New Hampshire coastline (the shortest in the US.) Massachusetts's Northern Provinces became a state in their own right in 1820.

pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

This would have been easier to answer if you had included some states for us to choose from.  So, I will list for you the original thirteen states and you can figure out which of your options is not one of them.

  1. Massachusetts
  2. Rhode Island
  3. Virginia
  4. South Carolina
  5. North Carolina
  6. Georgia
  7. New Jersey
  8. New York
  9. Pennsylvania
  10. New Hampshire
  11. Connecticut
  12. Delaware
  13. Maryland

Although Vermont and Maine are in the area, they were not part of the original thirteen.  Vermont became a state in 1791, but Maine was part of Massachusetts and did not become a state until the Compromise of 1820 led to its admission.