Which colonies are royal colonies and which colonies are charter colonies?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There were three kinds of British colonies.  There were royal colonies, charter colonies, and proprietary colonies. There were two charter colonies. They were Rhode Island and Connecticut. These colonies were called charter colonies because they were governed by a charter.  People in these colonies had the most freedom politically. They could elect their governor and their legislature.  There were eight royal colonies.  They were Massachusetts, Georgia, New York, Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey, and Virginia.  The King of England ruled these colonies.  (It should be noted that some people consider Massachusetts as a charter colony because it was granted a charter for a period of time.  However, that charter eventually was ended making Massachusetts a royal colony.) In these colonies, people had less political freedom than in the other kinds of colonies.  Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Delaware were proprietary colonies. An owner ruled these colonies. There were many kinds of colonies that existed.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial