What territories were conquered by the Axis powers in World War II?

Expert Answers

Want to remove ads?

Get ad-free questions with an eNotes 48-hour free trial.

Try It Free No Thanks
thetall eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In 1940, the Axis Powers (Germany, Italy and Japan) signed the Tripartite Pact that then came to be known as the Axis Alliance. Even though the Axis Powers concurred in their stand against the Allies, their wars towards their expansionist agenda were uncoordinated. Some of the territories conquered by the Axis Powers are listed below.

Czechoslovakia, Poland, Norway, Denmark, Netherlands, Belgium, France, Greece, Libya, Austria, Yugoslavia, Romania, Albania, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Normandy, Crete, Luxembourg, Guam Island, Wake Island, Bataan Peninsula, Corregidor, Hong Kong, Malaya, Singapore, Java, Sumatra, Borneo, Celebes, Burma, Philippines, Thailand, Ethiopia, Libya, Nice, Savoy, Corsica, Italian East Africa, British Somaliland, Montenegro, Tunisia, Majorca, Dodecanese Islands, Harar, Hungaray, Monaco, Slovakia, Moldova, San Marino, Algeria, Bulgaria and some parts of China.

thewanderlust878 | Student

Germany controlled most of Europe in WWII. Italy and Japan also conquered many territories themselves (Italy in North Africa and Japan in the Pacific) . The countries conquered by the Axis Powers include Czechoslovakia, France, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Serbia, northern Greece, Austria, Luxembourg, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Slovakia, Finland, Croatia, Indochina, Thailand, Malaysia, Burma, the Pacific Islands, Ethiopia, parts of New Guiana, Libya, and parts of Egypt. 

Hope this helps!

iamkaori | Student

There were many territories conquered by the Axis powers in World War II.


  • Libya
  • Ethiopia
  • Albania


  • Manchuria
  • parts of China
  • French Indochina (Vietnam)
  • Saigon
  • Thailand
  • Malaysia
  • Hong Kong
  • Philippines
  • Guam
  • Wake Island
  • Burma
  • Singapore
  • Sumatra
  • Bali
  • Java


  • part of Poland
  • Rhineland
  • Sudetenland
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • part of France
  • Dunkirk
  • Romania
  • Yugoslavia

Besides these, there are certainly many more territories that were occupied by the Axis Powers during World War II. Germany occupied much of Europe while Japan occupied much of the Pacific. Many countries feared these invasions and formed allies with the Axes. 

Hope this helped!