Where are five places in Macbeth where the Great Chain of Being has been broken?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In Macbeth, the Great Chain of Being is subverted after Macbeth kills Duncan, sending a traitor to become King and the lowest members of society (the witches) to be his trusted advisers.

1.  Macbeth, a young male thane, listens to old female witches (lowest on the social ladder).  When he is King, Macbeth will make them his advisers.

2.  Macbeth, the head of the household, takes advice from Lady Macbeth, his wife.

3.  Macbeth and Lady Macbeth conspire to and kill the King.  This breaks the Chain on three levels: subjects killing royalty; younger relatives killing an older relative; hosts killing the guest.

4.  Macbeth, the King, will kill his best friend Banquo and his subjects (Macduff's wife and child).

5.  The animal kingdom is disrupted as well: horses eat each other; a mousing owl will kill the falcon

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial