Where in Canada was the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples established?

Expert Answers
Michael Ugulini eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples was established in Ottawa, Ontario, the capital city of Canada. This Royal Commission formed on August 26, 1991. The final, five-volume, 4,000-page report was issued in November of 1996. The Government of Canada presented a 16-point mandate to the Royal Commission and the report is the Commission's response to this government mandate.

Upon completion of their work, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples set forth 440 recommendations. These recommendations called for significant changes in the relationship between Canada's Aboriginal Peoples and non-Aboriginal peoples and various governments in Canada (national, provincial, regional, city, town).

The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples Co-Chairs were Rene Dussault, j.c.a and Georges Erasmus. The Commissioners were Paul L.A.H. Chartrand; J. Peter Meekison; Viola Robinson; Mary Sillett, and Bertha Wilson.

Although there were disagreements with the final report, in general Canada's Aboriginal Peoples welcomed the report. One of the report's major recommendations was the formation of an Aboriginal parliament.

In January of 1998, the Government pf Canada issued a response to the report. The government's response was entitled "Gathering Strength: Canada's Aboriginal Action Plan. The response outlined four main objectives: Renewing the Partnership with Canada's Aboriginal Peoples; Strengthening Aboriginal Governance; Developing a New Fiscal Relationship, and Supporting Strong Communities, Peoples, and Economics.