whats the 4th note of the c scale in b flat clarinet

Expert Answers
crmhaske eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The C major scale (also known as Concert B♭ for the clarinet) is:

C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C  

Therefore, the 4th note in this scale is F.

Note that for this scale there are no flats or sharps.

The quickest way to dertermine the notes of any particular scale is to remember the pattern for that scale.  For instance the pattern for the major scale is:

whole step, whole step, half step, whole step, whole step, whole step, half step

Thefefore, if say we wanted to know the scale for B major:

B whole step to C# whole step to D# half step to E whole step to F# whole step to G# whole step to A# half step back to B

Therefore the B major scale is:

B C# D# E F# G# A# B

user4750329 | Student

if your talking about the CONVERT C scale (that starts on D) the scale is

D E F# G A B C# D

with the arpeggio 

D F# A D

but if your talking about the concer Bb scale (that starts on C) the scale is

C D E F G A B C 

with the arpeggio