Law and Politics

Start Free Trial

What do you call the people who discuss whether or not certain laws are or are not to be passed?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are three branches of government at the national level. These branches are the legislative, executive, and judicial branches. Each branch has a specific job to do. The branch that is responsible for discussing potential laws and then voting on them is the legislative branch.

There are several names that might apply to a member of the legislative branch. Sometimes, these people are called legislators because they are involved in the process of making the laws. At the national level, there are two parts to Congress, which is our lawmaking body. One part of Congress is the House of Representatives. The members of the House of Representatives are called representatives. A state’s population determines the number of representatives that each state will have. Large states have more representatives than small states. The other part of Congress is the Senate. The members of the Senate are called senators. Each state has two senators.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team