Expert Answers
samson98 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Seven Years' War was a European war fought primarily between England and France (although many European countries allied with one of these nations and also fought in the war) from 1755-1764. Britain and France had long been enemies, and war broke out once again in 1755 over territorial disagreements in the New World (the American theater of the war is known as the "French and Indian War"). Due to the vast colonial empires of the nations involved, the war quickly spread from Europe to North America, Asia, and Africa. Consequently, many historians consider the Seven Years' War to be the first "world war." The war was concluded by the Treaty of Paris in 1763 and resulted in a number of territorial exchanges. Most notably, France gave all of New France to England, except Louisiana, which it ceded to Spain.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question