What were the principal colonial regions of North America?

Expert Answers
mkoren eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Three were three principal colonial areas of the British colonies in North America. The New England region, or the New England Colonies, included Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire. This region had mostly manufacturing jobs. While some farming was done, the rocky soil and shorter growing season made farming more difficult. Fishing was also an important economic activity. There were fewer slaves in New England than in the other regions.

The second region was called the Middle Colonies. It included New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware. There was some farming done. There also was some manufacturing done in the Middle Colonies. Slavery did exist in the Middle Colonies.

The third region was in the South and was known as the region of the Southern Colonies. Maryland, Virginia, North and South Carolina, and Georgia were part of the Southern Colonies. There was a great deal of farming done in this region. The soil was fertile, and the climate was mild. There were many slaves in these colonies.

Further Reading:
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

There are generally said to have been three colonial regions.  In the north, there was New England.  It was settled by Puritans and its economy was diversified with an emphasis on seaborne trade and fishing.  Then there were the middle colonies like New York and Pennsylvania.  These were more religiously and ethnically diverse.  They too had a mixed economy but with some larger farms.  Finally, there was the South.  This was a largely Anglican area with a hierarchical society.  The society was dominated by plantation owners who got rich growing staple crops for export.