What were four qualifications Jonas had to have to be the next Receiver of Memory in The Giver?

Expert Answers
dymatsuoka eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Chief Elder outines the four qualifications that Jonas has to have in order to be the next Receiver of Memory when she announces his selection at the Ceremony.  The four qualifications are:

Intelligence - Jonas has proved that he has this quality by being "a top student throughout his school days".

Integrity - Jonas, like any other citizen of the community, has "committed minor transgressions".  He has shown his integrity, however, by always "presenting himself promptly for chastisement" whenever he has realized that he has done wrong.

Courage - Jonas has never had to deal with real pain, and cannot truly be prepared for the pain of a magnitude beyond the ordinary citizen's comprehension that he will have to endure as Receiver of Memory.  The Chief Elder, however, in conjunction with the current Receiver, "feel certain that (Jonas is) brave".

Wisdom - This "fourth essential attribute" is also something that Jonas will acquire only through his training, but again, in conjunction with the current Receiver, the Chief Elder feels that "Jonas has the ability to acquire wisdom".

There is a fifth quality that the next Receiver of Memory must have, a quality that can be named but not described.  This is the "Capacity to See Beyond", and it is something that is not really understood by the members of the community at large.  The Receiver, however, recognizes that "Jonas already has this quality";  It is evident in his fleeting capability to perceive colors (Chapter 8).

gmuss25 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In chapter 8, the Chief Elder addresses the community before introducing Jonas as the next Receiver of Memory. She then proceeds to elaborate on the qualifications to become the next Receiver of Memory by stating that the candidate must have intelligence, integrity, courage, and wisdom. Jonas meets all four requirements to become the next Receiver of Memory. He is one of the top students in his class, and despite several minor infractions, Jonas has illustrated his integrity by promptly presenting himself for chastisement when necessary. The Chief Elder then elaborates on the significance of having the courage needed for Jonas's upcoming Assignment. She tells him that being the next Receiver of Memory requires an extraordinary amount of courage to deal with the pain involved in the Assignment. The fourth "essential attribute" that Jonas must have is wisdom, which is something that Jonas will acquire as he goes through training. The last quality that Jonas must possess is the Capacity to See Beyond, which is the ability to see colors. At the moment the Chief Elder comments on the Capacity to See Beyond, Jonas looks out into the crowd and sees citizens "change," which means that Jonas sees them in color.

navster | Student


swagmunkee | Student

Intelligence, Integrity, Courage, and Wisdom