What was the political structure of the Italian states during the Renaissance?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Italy during the renaissance era was subdivided into a number of city states, small kingdoms and the papal state. The political structures of these states varied considerably and included republics, hereditary kingdoms, vassals, grand duchies and the Vatican ruled country in the case of the papal state. The breakdown of the Italian renaissance states and their political structures are as follows:

  1. Kingdom of Naples – hereditary kingdom
  2. Kingdom of Aragon – hereditary kingdom
  3. Papal States – ruled from Rome by the Vatican and Pope
  4. Republic of Genoa – Republic
  5. Republic of Florence – Republic
  6. Duchy of Savoy – hereditary state
  7. Venetian Republic – Republic
  8. Republic of Lucca – Republic
  9. Duchy of Ferrara – hereditary state
  10. Milan – hereditary state 

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team