What was the difference in governance between the Iroquois Confederacy and the United States?  

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Iroquois nations refers to the political alliance created by the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, and Seneca people, which was likely developed in the mid-15th century. Each nation elected a council to govern internal affairs and sent one delegate to a union that governed affairs relevant to each nation in the alliance. In the 18th century, Iroquois nation leader Canasatego urged the U.S. government to develop a similar union system so that the colonies did not consist of 13 separate autonomous governments. The colonies did later develop a federal system, but they did not exactly imitate the structure of the Iroquois nations. There were some cultural differences that the U.S. Constitution did not imitate; for example, Iroquois society structured inheritance from the maternal line and only allowed women the power of impeachment. Choosing government leaders was the responsibility of clan mothers in the Iroquois nations. Additionally, the U.S. Constitution did not allow for elections of military officers, while the Iroquois army was allowed to elected its own leadership. Finally, the bicameral system of the House of Representatives and the Senate differs from the Iroquois unicameral structure in which there is only one governing council.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team