What are three different types of love in Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Mature love: Hippolyta and Theseus are mature adults. They are marrying because Hippolyta is part of the conquests of war, but the two seem genuinely fond of and attracted to one another. Though eager for the sexual consummation of their marriage, Theseus does not lose his head over Hippolyta, nor she him.

Infatuation: Infatuation is presented as the height of foolishness. When the characters are enchanted by the magic love flower's juices, they act like buffoons to woo the object of their desires, no matter how homely they are (see: Titania's love for Bottom, who literally has an ass's head). Infatuated characters lose all reason and project noble attributes onto the beloved that are not really there.

Young love: Young love, as shown through the four lovers, is shown to be passionate and even reckless. Hermia and Lysander are willing to throw away their place in Athens and disobey the State to be together. Helena is willing to betray her best friend in the hopes of pleasing Demetrius, the...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 545 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team