A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night's Dream book cover
Start Your Free Trial

What are three different types of love in Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream?

Expert Answers info

Christopher Jerde eNotes educator | Certified Educator


calendarEducator since 2018

write876 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Arts

Mature love: Hippolyta and Theseus are mature adults. They are marrying because Hippolyta is part of the conquests of war, but the two seem genuinely fond of and attracted to one another. Though eager for the sexual consummation of their marriage, Theseus does not lose his head over Hippolyta, nor she him.

Infatuation: Infatuation is presented as the height of foolishness. When the characters are enchanted by the magic love flower's juices, they act like buffoons to woo the object of their desires, no matter how homely they are (see: Titania's love for Bottom, who literally has an ass's head). Infatuated characters lose all reason and project noble attributes onto the beloved that are not really there.

Young love: Young love, as shown through the four lovers, is shown to be passionate and even reckless. Hermia and Lysander are willing to throw away their place in Athens and disobey the State to be together. Helena is willing to betray her best friend in the hopes of pleasing Demetrius, the...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 545 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial

iandavidclark3 eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2016

write653 answers

starTop subjects are Literature and History

Further Reading:

check Approved by eNotes Editorial