The New England Colonies

Start Free Trial

What type of colony was Connecticut?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Connecticut was a self-governing, or charter, colony.

In effect, there were 3 types of American colonies. First, there were royal colonies, such as Virginia and Georgia. These colonies were under the authority of the English king.

Next, there were proprietary colonies, such as New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Maryland. Proprietary colonies were large land grants from the English king to a proprietor or colonial governor. The governor was given governing rights over the colony he presided over. Of course, such a governor worked in close collaboration with the English court across the ocean.

The last type of colony was a self-governing/charter colony, which included Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Plymouth. Such a colony was also called a corporate colony in that the English king granted a charter to the citizens of the colony as a corporate body.

The Connecticut colony was originally founded by Thomas Hooker, a Newton minister in the Massachusetts colony. Historians maintain that Hooker looked towards Connecticut to escape the influence of John Cotton, the leading Puritan minister in Massachusetts.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

Posted on

Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial

Already a member? Log in here.

Are you a teacher? Sign up now