What are the two bones that make up the posterior nasal septum?

2 Answers

crmhaske's profile pic

crmhaske | College Teacher | (Level 3) Associate Educator

Posted on

The nasal septum is the internal part of the nose that separates the left and right airways.  There are five structures that compose the nasal septum:

1.    perpendicular plate of ethmoid bone
2.    vomer bone
3.    cartilage of the septum
4.    crest of the maxillary bone
5.    crest of the palatine bone

The two structures at the posterior of the nasal septum are the perpendicular plate of ethmoid bone, and the vomer bone.  Both of these bones contribute to forming the nasal septum.  Both of these bones have small furrows for blood vessels, and grooves for nerves.

User Comments

jk006's profile pic

jk006 | Student, Undergraduate | (Level 3) eNoter

Posted on

The nasal septum, the division between the left and right airways of the nose, is made of three structures: the vomer bone, perpendicular plate of ethmoid bone, and its cartilage.
The bony part is the major part of the septum that consists of the perpendicular plate of ethmoid, and the vomer bone.