What are the three laws of Newton? Does he have other laws also.

william1941 | Student

Newton's role in describing the motion of an object is primarily attributed to what are called Newton's three laws of motion which are:

  • Newton's First law of motion:

Every object in a state of uniform motion tends to remain in that state of motion unless an external force is applied to it.

  • Newton's Second Law of motion:

The relationship between an object's mass m, its acceleration a, and the applied force F is F = ma. Acceleration and force are vectors (as indicated by their symbols being displayed in slant bold font); in this law the direction of the force vector is the same as the direction of the acceleration vector.

  • Newton's Third Law of motion:

For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

In addition to these, as Isaac Newton was a great Mathematician, Astronomer and Physicist, there are many other areas in which he has worked. There is no Newton's Fourth Law of Motion but his works in other areas have helped science and mathematics greatly.

krishna-agrawala | Student

Sir Issac Newton (1642-1727) has discovered hundreds of different scientific laws in diverse fields of science like gravitation, motion. light. Along with Leibniz, he also invented calculus independently. The terms "Three Laws" of Newton is generally associated with Newton's Laws of Motion. These three laws are stated below.

Newton's First Law of Motion:

Every body continues to be in the state of rest or of uniform motion in a straight line unless acted upon by some external force. This law is also called law of inertia.

Newton's Second Law of Motion:

The rate of change of momentum is directly proportional to the impressed force and takes place in the same direction in which the force acts.

Newton's Third Law of Motion:

To every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question