What are the three divisions of biodiversity?

krishna-agrawala | Student

Biodiversity, is a short form of the term biological diversity. It refers to the variety that exists among all living being including plants and animals, and their environment. The concept of biodiversity is very important in the study, protection, and sustainable use of living things. Protection biodiversity is one of the major challenges of the environmental protection programmes today.

We can identify three broad types of biodiversity. These are (1) genetic diversity, (2) species diversity, and (3) ecosystem diversity. Genetic diversity refers to the diversity that exists in the genes of the living beings present. Species diversity is the name given to biodiversity that exists in a specific place or among a specific group of organisms. Ecosystem biodiversity refers to the diversity in physical settings on earth, such as deserts, lakes, and coral reefs, and their populations of plants and animals. Thus an ecosystem refers to all the living things in a particular place and the nonliving things that are important to them.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question