What are the three branches of the national government?

7 Answers

pohnpei397's profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted on

The three branches of the national government are the legislative, the executive, and the judicial.

The legislative branch is the Congress.  In general, their job is to make the laws for the country.

The executive branch is headed by the President.  It also includes all the government workers like the FBI, the CIA, the IRS, the Park Service, etc.  Their job is to carry out (execute) the laws that are made by the Congress.

The judicial branch is headed by the Supreme Court.  It also includes other federal courts.  Its job is to interpret the laws made by Congress and to interpret the Constitution.

In these ways, there are three branches that all have different jobs to do.  This is called Separation of Powers.

laurto's profile pic

laurto | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted on

The three branches of national government are legislative (congress, house of representatives, and senate), executive (president and vice president), and judicial (supreme court). In the Constitution, it is said that one person should not have too much authority, because that would lead to a bad government. This led to the creation of separation of powers, each with its own responsibility, while maintaining the country and making sure that the people are not ignored. This is done through checks and balances.  

krishna-agrawala's profile pic

krishna-agrawala | College Teacher | (Level 3) Valedictorian

Posted on

The national government of the United States of America consists of three branches - legislative, executive, and judicial. The legislative branch represented by the Congress has the responsibility for passing laws according to which the country is to be governed. The Executive branch represented by the president is entrusted with the responsibility of enforcing the laws passes by the legislative branch. The function of judicial branch is to interpret the law and resolve disputes that may occur legality of legislative and executive actions.

Main organizational unit of the Legislative branch is Congress which consists of the Senate and House of representatives. It also includes some other departments that provide it support in carrying out its activities. The main functions of the Legislative branch include:

  1. Making, amending and repealing federal laws.
  2. levying federal taxes.
  3. Appropriating funds of the government.

The executive branch of the government consists of the Executive Office of the President, executive departments and independent offices. Responsibilities of the executive branch include enforcing federal laws, collecting federal taxes, and undertaking the activities entrusted to it in national interest. Among others these activities includes activities like maintaining internal law and order, maintaining foreign relations and defence of the country.

The highest authority in the judicial branch is the Supreme Court. Below this there is a hierarchy of lower level courts including courts of appeal and federal district courts.

panda2014's profile pic

panda2014 | Student, Grade 12 | (Level 1) Honors

Posted on

The three branches of government are the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The legislative branch consists of the two houses of Congress, the Senate and the House of Representatives, and its job is to create new laws. The Judicial branch consists of the Supreme Court and all the lower federal courts and its job is to enforce the laws. The executive branch consists of the Presidency and the beauracracy, and its job is to be the head of the government.

shemsham's profile pic

shemsham | High School Teacher | (Level 3) eNoter

Posted on

According to the United States Constitution we have the Legislative Branch, the Executive Branch , and the Judicial Branch.
meyerjo's profile pic

meyerjo | Middle School Teacher | eNotes Newbie

Posted on

The three branches of American Government are the legislative branch which includes both houses of Congress (the House of Representatives and the Senate), the Judicial branch (including the Supreme Court which is the highest court in the US), and the Executive Branch (headed by the President).