What is the taxonomic classification of water molds?

sciencesolve | Student

Water mold includes the taxonomic class of protists, which are eukaryotes, including algae, amoeba, ciliates or flagellates. Protists tasonomic class consists of unicellular and multicellular organisms. The protists are classified into the following groups: algae, protozoan, slime mold. Water mold comprises over 800 species, which are distributed into the two major divisions that include Oomycetes and Chytrids.

The phylum Oomycota comprises fungus-like eukaryotic microorganisms, called Oomycetes. These microorganisms are more closely related to phylum Phaeophyta, than Kingdom Fungi, since their biochemical and morphological characteristics belong to heterokonts.

There are identified four taxonomic classes of oomycetes: Leptomitales Peronosporales, Saprolegniales, Lagenidales. The relationships between the different classes of oomycetes are unfolded by the late molecular phylogenetic researches of ribosomal and mitochondrial sequences.

Animal-pathogenic oomycetes, such as Pythium insidiosum, is known to deadly contaminate mammals, sometimes including humans.

vevekim | Student

The taxonomic class of water mold was originally believed to be fungi, because of its close resemblance to mold. But science has recently recognized it as separate from fungi. It has over 800 species divided into two major phyla divisions. The Chytrids and the Oomycetes are these two divisions. Each of these types of water molds contain unique characteristics.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question