Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children Questions and Answers
by Ransom Riggs

Start Your Free Trial

What is a summary for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children?

Expert Answers info

shineinthedriverseat eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2015

write6 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Research Starters

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is the first novel by American author Ransom Riggs and was written in 2011.

It is a fantastical tale told with words and the use of old photographs, specifically vernacular photos which are amateur pictures of everyday people and life.

The main character, 16-year-old Jacob, is introduced to photographs of the "peculiar children" by his dear Grandfather Abe.  

Abe was raised in an orphanage, fought in wars and even performed in a circus.  When his grandfather dies in a mysterious manner that no one will believe, Jacob becomes depressed and has nightmares.

This leads to a journey with his father to Wales, where his Grandfather was from.  Jacob finds the ruins of Miss Peregrine's home and meets Emma Bloom (who is a firestarter) and Millard Nullings (an invisible boy).

Jacob slips through a time portal which takes him to September 3, 1940, the day before Miss Peregrine's home was destroyed by a bomb dropped during World War II.

Miss Peregrine is an Ymbryne (shape-shifters who can control time) who can turn into a peregrine falcon bird.  Jacob hears about deaths occurring around him and is informed about the Hollowgast monsters who hunt Peculiar Children.

Jacob realizes that he is actually a Peculiar, and as the only one who can see the Hollowgast, can prevent the killings and rescue a kidnapped Miss Peregrine.

Even after being rescued, Miss Peregrine remains in bird form and the time loop collapses, causing the children's home to be destroyed.

Jacob knows that he cannot stay in the past if he ever wants to live again in the real world.  Still, he chooses to return to 1940 where he can help Emma rescue Miss Peregrine's mentor (Miss Avocet) and change Miss Peregrine back to normal.

This set the stage for the sequel, Hollow City, released in 2014.

check Approved by eNotes Editorial