What is the summary for Anne's House of Dreams?

Expert Answers
Noelle Thompson eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Anne's House of Dreams is the fifth book in the Anne of Green Gables series!  (It is one of my favorite series of all time!)  This particular book is a bridge between Anne's story and the stories of her children (the Blythe children)  because in this book, Anne finally marries Gilbert.  This novel is about the beginning of her married life.

Readers of the Anne of Green Gables series have been waiting a while for this to finally happen:  Anne and Gilbert Blythe finally get married.  Gilbert has become a doctor and is ready to commit.  They say their vows in the apple orchard. All their good friends are there.  Suddenly, it's not Avonlea that is the setting anymore, but Four Winds Harbor where Anne and Gilbert build their "house of dreams" from the title. 

The book is mostly about Anne's and Gilbert's new adventures in Four Winds Harbor and the different new characters they meet:  Captain Jim, the lighthouse attendant, with his sad stories of the sea; Miss Cornelia Bryant, the lady who speaks from the heart -- and speaks her mind; and the tragically beautiful Leslie Moore, into whose dark life Anne shines a brilliant light.  The first tends to the lighthouse in Four Winds Harbor and has many sad stories of ships crashing on the rocks.  Miss Cornelia wears her heart on her sleeve, but is quite outspoken.  Then there is Leslie Moore, a quiet woman with a dark secret.  Anne is able to help Leslie and the other characters ease their burdens while bearing children of her own.  In this way, Anne maintains her altruistic character:

I'd like to add some beauty to life ... I don't exactly want to make people KNOW more ... though I know that IS the noblest ambition ... but I'd love to make them have a pleasanter time because of me ... to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn't been born.

Thus, this book becomes a kind of journey from the Anne of her youth to the Anne as mama.  The further books tend to focus upon Anne's mischievous children.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question