What are the stages of personality development as described by Abraham Maslow's self-actualization theory?

Asked on by tevlev0762

1 Answer | Add Yours

rrteacher's profile pic

rrteacher | College Teacher | (Level 2) Educator Emeritus

Posted on

The different stages of personality development in Maslow's self-actualization theory are most commonly known as his "hierarchy of needs." Essentially, these stages were really needs that had to be fulfilled, at least partially, before a person moved on to satisfy higher needs. It should be noted that they do not progress in a linear fashion like the stages in some developmental theories, however. Maslow's stages are as follows:

  • Those needs that are the minimum for human survival, like food and water, shelter, and so on. 
  • The need for safety and security. 
  • The need for intimacy, love, and friendship.
  • The need for a high self-esteem, and to be esteemed highly by others.
  • The need for self-actualization, which was the term that Maslow used to describe a state of fulfilling one's potential.

Self-actualization was the highest of the stages, and Maslow, like others, posited that mental illnesses and disorders might result from not fulfilling needs at various points in one's life.


We’ve answered 319,812 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question