Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are five vowels in the Spanish language.  They are a, e, i, o, and u.  What is nice about the Spanish language is that each vowel has only one sound.  In English, the same five vowels have 12 different sounds.  This makes it easier to learn and pronounce Spanish words.  The vowel a is pronounced "ah".  The vowel e is pronounced "eh".  The vowel i is pronounced "ee".  The vowel o is pronounced "oh".  Finally, the vowel u is pronounced "oo".  There is something called diphthongs in the Spanish language which also is involved in pronouncing vowel combinations, but that answer is for another question on another day.  Knowing how to pronounce the vowels helps in learning and correctly pronouncing words in Spanish.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial