What are some examples of Nanda labels (nursing diagnoses) that correlate to each stage of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs?

Expert Answers
caledon eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Maslow's Needs are (in order from least basic to most basic)

  1. Self-Actualization
  2. Self-Esteem
  3. Belonging
  4. Safety
  5. Physiological

We can already see that the more basic needs, at the bottom, are primary concerned with the proper functioning of the body, whereas the upper levels are concerned with psychological health and stimulation.

NANDA Diagnoses are in 12 categories:

  1. Health Promotion
  2. Nutrition
  3. Elimination and Exchange
  4. Activity/Rest
  5. Perception/Cognition
  6. Self-Perception
  7. Role Relationships
  8. Sexuality
  9. Coping/Stress Tolerance
  10. Life Principles
  11. Safety/Protection
  12. Comfort

There are already some direct parallels, such as Safety, Self-Perception and Role Relationships.

Some diagnoses might include:

  1. Self-Actualization: Life Principles - readiness for enhanced decision making
  2. Self-Esteem: Self Perception - chronic low self-esteem
  3. Belonging: Role Relationships - ineffective relationship
  4. Safety: Coping/Stress Tolerance - fear
  5. Physiological: Activity/Rest - sleep deprivation