Law and Politics

Start Free Trial

What are six components of the ICS and NIMS? The incident control system (ICS) and National Incident Management System (NIMS) are the baseline for responding to natural and manmade disasters in the United States. Identify and discuss six key components of these systems. Give your opinion on their effectiveness.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Let's take a deeper look at these components to help you better evaluate their effectiveness.

The command and management portion also includes ICS (Incident Control System). This is a general outline of how the entire disaster incident should be managed throughout its entirety. Command and management may also include multi-agency systems, which consist of co-coordinating with federal, state, local, and tribe agencies to help manage and respond to the disaster as well as informing the public.

Preparedness is something that is done year-round to prepare for a disaster. This consists of proper training for service individuals (think EMS training, for example), ensuring that qualifications and certifications are maintained and achieved. This would also include insuring that equipment is properly maintained.

Resource management includes keeping an inventory of resources (i.e., tools, vehicles, supplies, etc.), which would be necessary in a disaster, as well as how effectively they can be dispatched.

Communications and information management refers to ensuring a standard for communication between everyone involved in managing the disaster.

Ongoing Management and Maintenance refers to consistently monitoring and assessing NIMS to see how it can be improved.

In order to give your opinion on their effectiveness, you might think of some natural disasters and ask yourself questions about how they were handled: was there a timely and efficient response? Was communication with the public handled well? Did the responders have access to the required equipment and resources to help?

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) National Incident Management System (NIMS) defines five major components which, collectively, form the framework for mitigation, response, and recovery from disasters. The components are as follows: preparedness (which includes training and planning for a disaster, as well as ongoing equipment testing and re-certification), communications and information management, resource management (inclusive of both logistics and human resource management), command and management (the component responsible for the Incident Command System, the Multiagency Coordination Systems, and public information and alerting systems), and ongoing management and maintenance.

The Incident Command System, meanwhile, has five major functional areas: command and general staff, operations, planning, logistics, and finance/administration. An optional sixth area, intelligence/investigations, may also be organized.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

According to the 2007 FEMA documentNational Incident Management SystemFEMA 501/Draft August 2007, Table 1. page 6, the six components are as listed below. These components cover a nationwide coordinated approach to incident management for all hazards, with "interoperability" of communications, for both "management and maintenance" of incidents.

A comprehensive, nationwide, systematic approach to incident management, including the Incident Command System, Multiagency Coordination Systems, and Public Information

A set of preparedness concepts and principles for all hazards

Essential principles for a common operating picture and interoperability of communications and information management

Standardized resource management procedures that enable coordination among different jurisdictions or organizations

Scalable so it may be used for all incidents (from day-to-day to large-scale)

A dynamic system that promotes ongoing management and maintenance

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team