What is the specific setting of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen? 

Expert Answers
Kristen Lentz eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Set during the Regency period, Pride and Prejudice's main setting revolves around several estates in the English country side:  Longbourne, Meryton, Netherfield Park, Pemberly, and Rosings Park.


This is the estate of the honorable Mr. Bennet, and where much of the action takes place.  One of the conflicts in the novel centers around the fact that the Longbourne estate is entailed away to Mr. Collins, if there is no son to inherit the estate after Mr. Bennet's death.  Since the Bennet family has five daughters, the family is very aware of the fact that at least one of the daughters will need to marry very well in order to support her mother and sisters.


The small village by the Longbourne estates and Netherfield Park. Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters enjoy walking from their father's land to the shops in Meryton, particularly when the soldiers are stationed there.

Netherfield Park:

Elizabeth and Jane are forced to spend some time at Netherfield Park, the estate being leased by Mr. Bingley, after Jane's mother forces her to travel to tea in the rain.  Netherfield Park is a much larger and more fashionable estate than Longbourne. 


This grand estate located in Derbyshire belongs to Mr. Darcy and is set on very large grounds.  Elizabeth visited the estate with her aunt and uncle, the Gardiners, but had not planned on meeting Mr. Darcy there.  Their unexpected meeting gives their reluctant relationship a second chance.

Kent and Rosings Park:

Elizabeth spends a short time in Kent with her odious cousin Mr. Collins, who considers himself to have the remarkable luck of having Lady Catherine as his patroness.  Lady Catherine invites Elizabeth to her sizable estate, Rosings Park.

Read the study guide:
Pride and Prejudice

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question