Four Major Oceans

What are the 4 major oceans?

Expert Answers
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

First of all, we should recognize that the idea of separate named oceans is simply something that we humans have made up.  The oceans of the world are, of course, all connected to one another in one way or another.  Because of that, we could actually say that there is only one ocean.  When we decide to divide the global ocean up, we are doing so in a rather arbitrary way.  Because this is so arbitrary, the number of named oceans in the world has changed recently even though the physical makeup of the world has not.  There are now, in many people’s minds, five oceans rather than four.

The four oceans that are recognized by everyone are the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean. In recent years, many people have come to accept the idea that there is a “Southern Ocean” that surrounds Antarctica.  So, if you are supposed to name only four oceans, they are the Pacific, the Atlantic, the Indian and the Arctic, but many sources will also mention the Southern Ocean.

thewanderlust878 | Student

Interestingly enough, the world is covered in approximately 71% water. The world today has 5 major oceans. However, before the year 2000, there were only 4 oceans that were recognized as existing. The original four major oceans are as follows:

  1. The Atlantic Ocean (between the Americas and Africa)
  2. The Arctic Ocean (at the top of the world, surrounding the North Pole)
  3. The Indian Ocean (between Africa, Asia, and Australia)
  4. The Pacific Ocean (the largest one, encompasses the very East and very West)

The newest ocean is the Southern Ocean, which is located at the bottom of the world, near Antarctica 

Hope this helped!

rachellopez | Student

There are 5 oceans in the world: Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, Southern, and Arctic. No one really acknowledges the Southern ocean even though the Arctic Ocean is the smallest of the 5. Until the year 2000, the Southern Ocean wasn't even recognized. The major oceans that everyone learns about are the Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, and Arctic.

sid-sarfraz | Student

Our earth is made up of 71% of oceans which are beneficial to humans, plants and animals. Oceans have been a great help since ancient times like migrating etc. There are four major oceans which are as follows:-

  1. Pacific ocean (Covers 28% of earth)
  2. Atlantic Ocean 
  3. Arctic Ocean
  4. Indian Ocean

In year 2000, another ocean namely Southern Ocean was discovered.

glendamaem | Student

The four major oceans in the world are the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean.