What distinguishes the punishments for sinners in the third ring and the suicides in the 7th circle?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In the 7th circle of Dante's Inferno, you will find the violent. The circle has three rings for three levels of sin. The first ring is for those who commit violence against people and property. They are immersed in a river of boiling blood. The centaurs shoot arrows at those who try to escape. In the second ring dwell those who have commited violence against self - specifically suicide. These souls are transformed into bushes and trees, gnarled and thorny, fed upon by the Harpies for all time. They will not know the resurrection of the body. The final ring is for the most egregious sin, violence against God and nature. These sinners reside in a desert of flaming sand with fire raining down around them.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial