Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are nine different stages that a star must pass through before being “born.”  The first stage is when a nebula collects and makes a mass of gas and dust then it begins to contract under its own gravity.  The second stage in the birth of a star is the protostar.  During the protostar stage the young star has begun to collapse on itself, but not collapsed enough to go through the nuclear fusion that is required for it to move on to stage 3.  During the protostar stage the star is protected and must get up to 15,000,000 centigrade degrees.  After that happens the process moves to stage 3.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

Posted on

Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial