What are the processes that are necessary for continued growth and division in a normal body cell?

Expert Answers
ncchemist eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The growth and division of a normal body cell are controlled by what is called the cell cycle.  The standard prokaryotic cell cycle for a somatic (non-sexual) body cell consists of three phases. 

The interphase is the resting phase between cell divisions.  During this time, the cell absorbs nutrients and grows in size, produces additional organelles, and synthesizes the proteins needed for cell functions and upcoming cell division.  Toward the end of the interphase, the cell replicates its DNA in its nucleus to prepare for cell division.

The mitotic phase is the actual process of the nuclear membrane breaking down and the replicated DNA being separated to form two identical new nuclei.

The final phase is called cytokinesis.  This is when the cell divides the two new nuclei and all of the cytoplasm and organelles into two separate and distinct new cells.  The cell keeps repeating this same cell cycle over and over again to continuously replicate and produce new identical cells to either grow or replace lost or dead cells.

sid-sarfraz | Student

In a normal body cell, the processes that are necessary for continued growth and division is referred to as cell cycle. Cell cycle is the procedure by which cells divide and grow, consisting of specific step by step phases.

The three phases are as follows:-

  1. Mitosis phase
  2. Interphase
  3. Cytokinesis

INTERPHASE is the phase in which the dividing cells spends most of the time resting as it grows to prepare for cell division. In this phase;

  • Nutrients are absorbed by cell
  • Synthesizes proteins
  • Replication of DNA

MITOSIS PHASE is the main phase in which DNA is replicated.

CYTOKINESIS is the phase in which two identical distinct cells are produced.