Expert Answers
malibrarian eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The original Jungle Book stories concerned Mowgli, a boy who is raised in the jungle by a pack of wolves and who learns how to be an animal in the jungle, rather than a human being.  Eventually, after many adventures involving animals like Baloo the Bear, Mowgli returns to live in a village with people.

There are other stories, however, in "The Jungle Book," including "Riki-Tikki-Tavi" and "The White Seal," all of which have to do with various types of animals and their interactions with humans.

Check the link below for more information.  Good luck!

ajaic | Student

The jungle book follows the adventures of a boy called Mowgli who is raised by a pack of wolves. He is raised as an animal however after an incident that involves him being outcasted from the pack he questions his identity and lives with the villagers. However he doesn't fit in there so he eventually returns to live in the jungle with the approval of his pack.

The novel also follows other animal fables which explore themes such as courage.

Read the study guide:
The Jungle Book

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question