What are the places of worship for Christianity, Islam, and Judaism and who is the religious leader for Judaism?Also, what are the tenets of Judaism and Islam?

Expert Answers
brettd eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Christians worship in churches and cathedrals, where Muslims worship in Mosques.  Jews observe the Sabbath and conduct services in Synagogue, or as sometimes referred to, "going to Temple".

 The Jewish equivalent of a Priest or Pastor is called a Rabbi.  Jews, Muslims and Christians have a lot in common.  They worship the same God, but refer to him as God, Yahweh, or Allah depending on the religion.  They also believe in the same prophet, Abraham.  All three religions believe in Jesus, but differ on his role.  Muslims and Christians both believe he was a prophet, but only Christians believe he was the Son of God.  Jews believe he was a good man with great teachings, but not a prophet - they are still waiting for the prophet to come as promised.  Muslims also believe in a third prophet, Mohammed.

Jews study the old testament of the Bible, specifically, the first five books.  This is their holy book, the Torah.  Christians have the Old and New Testaments in the Bible.  Muslims study the Koran, which they believe is the word of God as told to Mohammed directly.

As for specific tenets of each religion, the Muslims believe in the Five Pillars of Islam - Charity, Prayer, Fasting, Pilgrimage to Mecca, and Mohammed the Prophet.  They observe the holy month of Ramadan, and fast from sun up to sundown.

Jews believe in observing the Sabbath day, as commanded in the Ten Commandments. They believe in the Old Testament and its teachings.

Christians emphasize the teachings of Jesus, the Crucifixion as taking away the Sin of Man, and the principle of forgiveness.

academy633 | Student

In addition to the 10 commandments, many Jews observe some of the 603 additional ones listed in the first five book of the old testament, known as the Torah.

There is no singular religious leader for the Jews.  Each congregation has a leader, often a Rabbi, but the leader answers only to the president of the congregation.  The rabbi advises, but does not command, the members of the congregation with regard to religious matters.

picturesque | Student

Christians worship in churches and cathedrals, Muslims worship in Mosques.  Jews observe the Sabbath and conduct services in Synagogue, or as sometimes referred to, "going to Temple".

so churches for Christians, mosques for Muslims and synagogue for jews.

dht | Student

the places of worship for Islam are Mosques.The believers are called Muslim.They believe in Allah.They know whole human being comes from Adam.According to them The Last Holy Prophet is Hz. Muhammed (SAW).

The Five Pillars of Islam is the term given to the five duties incumbent on every Muslim. These duties are Shahadah (profession of faith), Salat (prayers), Zakat (giving of alms), Sawm (fasting, specifically during Ramadan) and Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca). These five practices are essential to Sunni Muslims; Shi'a Muslims subscribe to eight ritual practices which substantially overlap with the five Pillars.[1]Twelvers have five Principles. The shahadah is a set statement normally recited in Arabic "'ašhadu 'al-lā ilāha illā-llāhu wa 'ašhadu 'anna muħammadan rasūlu-llāh", translated as: "[I profess that] There is no God but God, and Mohammad is his Prophet."[