Expert Answers
trophyhunter1 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Meiosis is a reduction division. It results in four haploid gametes or sex cells from an original diploid cell. During interphase, replication of chromosomes occurs. Next begins meiosis I. It has prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. An important step in meiosis I is the formation of tetrads or similar groups of four chromosomes. Here, crossing over occurs during synapsis. This allows for more variation to be seen in the gametes, as the genes are shuffled around. This takes place in prophase I. The cell divides during telophase into two daughter cells which are still diploid. Now, meiosis II occurs. Prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase all occur and four haploid cells are the end result. In humans, a 46 chromosome teste cell  which is diploid, will give rise two four haploid gamete(sperm) cells, each with 23 chromosomes. In females, a diploid ovary cell will give rise to four haploid cells-one ovum(egg cell) and 3 polar bodies.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question