Law and Politics

Start Your Free Trial

What are the organs of government (legislative, executive, and judiciary)?

Expert Answers info

teachsuccess eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2015

write3,263 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Law and Politics

The three main branches/organs of government are the legislative, executive, and judiciary. Very simply, the legislative branch makes the laws, the executive enforces the laws, and the judiciary interprets the laws. Many countries today practice some form of this system of government, particularly the United States. Here, the three organs exist as a system of checks and balances to ensure that no one branch exceeds the others in power.

In the United States' legislative branch, each state is represented by two senators. The number of representatives each state receives, however, is based on population. For example, based on the latest 2010 census , California has fifty-three representatives, more than any other state in the union. Meanwhile, Vermont, Wyoming, South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana, Delaware, and Alaska each have one representative. In all, there are 435 members in the House of Representatives. There are also six non-voting House of Representative members: the resident...

(The entire section contains 555 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial