The Name of the Rose

by Umberto Eco

Start Free Trial

In Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose, what is the order in which all of the murders happen?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In Umberto Eco's mystery novel The Name of the Rose, 7 murders are committed by Franciscan friar William of Baskerville, and assisted by Adso of Melk, who also narrates the story. Those murders happen in the following order:

Adelmo of Otranto, who is an illuminator

Venantius of Salvemec, who is a manuscript translator

Berengar of Arundel, who is an assistant librarian

Severinus of Sankt Wendel, who is an herbalist

Malachai of Hildesheim, who is the librarian

Abo of Fossanova, who is the abbot of the monastery

Jorge of Burgos, who is a blind monk


See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team