What are the notes in the Blues Scale in D?

Expert Answers
morrol eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Blues scales are made up of six notes. Five of the notes are from the minor pentatonic scale. The added sixth note is the diminished (or lowered) fifth of the scale (represented as o5). The fifth is counted from the tonic or root note. The numerical representation of the blues scale is 1 b3 4 b5 5 b7 1. This makes the notes in the blues scale whose root is D: D F G Ab A C D.

When playing the Blues Scale, you can also alternate with a Dorian Minor scale because it has the same tonic. This will help your playing sound more varied.

mrsepulveda | Student

Here's a simple D blues scale for you.

First note is your root, D - E - Ab - G - A - B - Db - D 


hanahggirl | Student

The Blues scale consists of 6 different notes. They will be the 6 notes of the minor Pentatonic scale plus one more; The diminished 5th of the tonic. For example:

D Blues scale: D - F - G - Ab - A - C - D
The diminished 5th is A flat.

Voila! There you have it simplified. Enjoy playing the blues!

josemrosa | Student

First of all, to be able to learn the Blues Scale for "D", you need to know what is "Blues Scales".

The blues scale consists of the following: Root, b3rd, 4th, #4th, 5th and b7th.

EXAMPLE: F blues Scale = F, Ab, Bb, B, C, Eb, F

When playing a twelve bar blues in the key of Bb, use the Bb blues scale: Bb, Db, Eb, E, F, Ab, Bb
The blues scale can also be used over minor chords when the minor chord is sounded for 2, 4, 8, or 16
measures or longer.

EXAMPLE: If D minor is sounded for eight measures, you may use the D blues scale: D, F,
G, Ab, A, C, D

When playing in minor tonalities you may choose to alternate between the dorian minor and the blues
scale, both having the same root tone.

EXAMPLE: If D minor is sounded for eight measures, play D minor(dorian) or play D blues scale or alternate between the two scale sounds.

The blues scale is used to convey a "Funky," "Down-Home," "Earthy" or "Bluesy" sound/feel.  So, now that we have discussed what is Blues Scales, to answer your question. The D Blues Scale is: D, F, G, Ab, A, C, D