What new nations resulted from the breakup of the Soviet Union?

Expert Answers
rakesh05 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In December 1991 the Soviet Union partitioned into 15 countries. The largest country by area is the Russia which lies in eastern part of Europe.Other eastern European countries of Soviet Union are Belarus, Moldova and Ukraine. Five countries of the Soviet Union fall in the region of Central Asia listed as  Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tazikistan and Turkmenistan.

Other six countries are Armenia, Azerbaijan,Georgia,Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania.