Illustration of a person holding their head next to a noose and a detached head

Things Fall Apart

by Chinua Achebe

Start Free Trial

What are the names of the nine villages in Things Fall Apart?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The nine villages in Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart are as follows: 1 Umuofia, 2 Ikemefua, 3 Aninta, 4 Umuazu, 5, Mbaino, 6 Abame, 7 Elumelu, 8 Ikeocha, and 9 Mbanta. 

Most of the story takes place in the village of Umuofia.  That is because the story's protagonist is Okonkwo.  He is a well known and respected warrior from that village.  

At one point in the story, Okonkwo is chosen to be the adoptive father of a boy from another village.  The boy is Ikemefuna, and he is from the village of Mbaino. Okonkwo comes to love this boy like a son, but is forced to kill him later in the story. 

Mbanta is where Okonko's mother is from, and that is where he is exiled to for seven years after accidentally shooting and killing someone. 

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In "Things Fall Apart" by Chinua Achebe, is set in Umuofia which is comprised of nine villages. Each village is represented by an egwugwu. Each egwugwu serves as a spokesperson for his particular village. Ibo (Igbo) is the name of the village that Okwonkwo, the protagonist, is the egwugwu for. Mbanta and Iguedo are other villages in Umuofia. All nine of the villages are not specifically listed in the novel. The reader can get a good idea about the different villages by comparing the egwugwu from each of the villages.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial