what is monocotyledon

1 Answer

gsenviro's profile pic

gsenviro | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted on

Flowering plants are classified based on the number of embryonic leaves (also known as cotyledons). The plants whose seeds have only one embryonic leaf are known as monocotyledons or monocots (since they have only one cotyledon). In comparison, plants with two embryonic leaves in their seeds are known as dicotyledons (or dicots). Monocotyledons have several characteristics that set them apart from dicots. Monocots, typically, have a fibrous root system and parallel veins on the leaves. The vascular bundles in monocotyledons have complex arrangements. Also, the floral part of the monocotyledons are generally present in multiples of three. Some important examples of monocotyledons include major grain crops (including wheat, maize, etc.), sugar cane, bamboo, ginger, onion, garlic, etc. There are close to 60,000 plant species that have been categorized as monocotyledons.

Hope this helps.