Describe the modern government of the Cherokee Nation.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Today, the Cherokee Nation's government is based very much on the government of the United States or of the various states.  That is, it is a democracy with separation of powers and three branches of government.  As an Indian nation, the Cherokee have some degree of sovereignty within the United States.  

The Cherokee legislature is called the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council.  It is made up of 17 members.  15 are elected from within the nation's "tribal service jurisdiction" (the nation does not have a reservation) and two are elected by Cherokee living outside that area.  

The Cherokee also have an executive branch with a Principal Chief and a Deputy Principal Chief at its head.  These are elected positions as well.  Finally, there is a judicial branch that is not elected.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial