What are the main ideas in Dantes Inferno.

Expert Answers
thanatassa eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Dante Alighieri's epic poem “The Divine Comedy” is written in three parts, Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradisio. These reflect the three possible destinations to where the soul might be transported after death according to medieval Roman Catholicism. Dante, as narrator of the poem, is guided through nine levels of Hell by the Roman poet Virgil, and then through Purgatory, and finally to Paradise. The nine levels of Hell illustrate the divisions of sins in medieval Roman Catholicism. The poem illustrates the soul’s journey from sin to God.

Read the study guide:
Dante's Inferno

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question