What are the main ideas for Chapters 1-22 in To Kill a Mockingbird?

Expert Answers
bullgatortail eNotes educator| Certified Educator

That's quite a question, and it certainly cannot be given in great detail here. However, here is a quick breakdown.

  • CHAPTER 1:  General background information and introduction of Dill.
  • 2:  Scout's first day at school.
  • 3:  Atticus teaches his lesson about "climb into his skin and walk around in it."
  • 4:  Boo's gifts arouse the kids' curiosity.
  • 5:  Same as Chapter 4.
  • 6:  Jem loses his pants in the Radley raid.
  • 7:  More gifts from Boo; the knothole is sealed.
  • 8:  Snowfall and Maudie's house burns.
  • 9:  Christmas at Finch Landing.
  • 10:  "One-Shot" Finch and the mad dog.
  • 11:  Mrs. Dubose's lesson.
  • 12:  Church with Calpurnia.
  • 13:  Aunt Alexandra arrives.
  • 14:  The runaway Dill appears.
  • 15:  The kids rescue Atticus from the lynch mob.
  • 16-22:  The trial of Tom Robinson. 
isaacrox | Student



Read the study guide:
To Kill a Mockingbird

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question