What are the lower fixed point and upper fixed point in the Fahrenheit scale?  

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Fahrenheit scale is one of the three commonly used temperature scales (other two being Celsius and Kelvin scales). This was developed by Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit, a German physicist. This scale was based on three fixed points. The lower fixed point of 32 degrees corresponded to freezing of water. The upper fixed point of 212 degrees corresponded to boiling of water. The third fixed point of 96 degrees corresponded to human body temperature (which was later corrected to 98.6 degrees, the value we use today). Fahrenheit scale is not as commonly used in today's world, as the Celsius scale. There are some countries such as, United States that still use it; rest of the world uses the Celsius scale. We can easily convert between the two scale using the formula:

C = 5/9  (F-32),

where C and F are temperatures in Celsius and Fahrenheit.

hope this helps. 

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial