Law and Politics

Start Free Trial

What are the levels of goverment?Elaborate on them.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

This question can be answered in several ways. One way is to look at the levels of government in our federal government. The Constitution created three branches or levels of government. Each branch has a specific job that is different from the jobs of the other branches. The legislative branch makes our laws. The legislative branch consists of the House of Representatives, which has 435 members, and the Senate, which has 100 members. The executive branch carries out our laws. This branch, headed by the President and the Vice President, is responsible for making sure that whatever a law says should occur actually does occur. The judicial branch, which is our court system, is responsible for interpreting our laws and deciding what the language of the law means. Each branch also is able to control the actions of the other branches through a system of checks and balances.

Another way to look at this question is to look at the different levels of government throughout the country. There is the local level of government. This would include school boards as well as the municipal and the county governments. Another level of government would be the state government. Finally, the third level would be the federal government, which is outlined in more detail in the previous paragraph.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team