Science Questions and Answers

Start Your Free Trial

What kingdom do unicellular organisms, that lack a nucleus, belongs to? 

Expert Answers info

Lupe Tanner, Ph.D. eNotes educator | Certified Educator

briefcaseCollege Professor

bookPh.D. from Oregon State University

calendarEducator since 2015

write3,385 answers

starTop subjects are Science, Math, and Business

Unicellular organisms are also known as single-celled organisms, because they have only one cell. In comparison, multicellular organisms are those that contain a number of cells. Some common examples of unicellullar organisms are bacteria and archaea. The unicellular organisms that do not contain any nucleus are known as prokaryotes. All other organisms are classified as eukaryotes. 

Prokaryotes or unicellular organisms, without a nucleus, are categorized in two different kingdoms:  Eubacteria and Archaebacteria or simply, bacteria and archaea, respectively. Sometimes these two kingdoms are also clubbed together as Monera.

Unicellular organisms with a nucleus are part of the kingdom Protista. Eukaryotes form three different kingdoms, namely, Fungi, Plantae (consists of all the plants) and Animalia (consists of all the animals that we know about).

Bacteria are most widely known unicellular organisms that lack a nucleus.

Hope this helps.