What is the structure of Pride and Prejudice?      

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

For most of the nineteenth century, English novels were published in three volumes, and Pride and Prejudice is one of the first to employ this format. The narrative therefore falls neatly into three parts.

In part 1, we are quickly introduced to all the major characters: Mr. and Mrs. Bennett, their five daughters, Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley (the latter by word-of-mouth) all appear in the first few pages. The reader is also introduced to their essential characteristics with great speed and economy. Mrs. Bennett's foolishness and vulgarity and her husband's caprice and dry humor are evident by the end of the first chapter. Almost as quickly, we discover Jane's sweet temper, Elizabeth's sharp wit and independence, and Lydia 's irresponsibility, all of which are to drive the plot. The relationship between Bingley and Jane is firmly established as is the antagonism between Darcy and Elizabeth. This section ends with the abrupt conclusion of Bingley's relationship with Jane and the departure of his party...

(The entire section contains 3 answers and 795 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team